Getting out of Rejection Prison

bono

Reading letters like this one addressed to Bono remind me that opinions may be valid but are definitely not the final appraisal of who or what we are.

Not long ago, reading Julia Cameron’s open discussion of her “rejection scars” in The Artist’s Way served to release me from “rejection prison.” After that, instead of hiding the shame I felt about failures and brush-offs, I was able to embrace them as part of the human experience.

Of course, rejection never feels good, but, the experience is neutralized and useful if, in the process, I…

  • learn more about myself
  • improve my work
  • gain strength
  • empathize better with others

and/or

  • acquire humility

PS. No need to prove anyone wrong, either. It’s only about being who I was born to be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

