What Poets Are Good For

billy collins

(I’ve posted this poem before but the practicality of Billy Collins’ poetry deserves another mention.)

I choke on my cereal and cry in my bowl

As I read Billy Collins, three poems in a row

I am moved by the beavers (not noble acts or heartbreak)

Carrying sticks to a dam (what sense does that make?)

Still choking on milk, I rise to make tea

And reach for the cup that reminds me of me

There are three, but two aren’t clean

The blue for hope, the other for dreams

This one about flying home on a plane

And telling a man that I was feeling insane

For wanting to be what I am and do what I do

With just a few little sticks (and no money or glue)

 

So, I drink my tea with a sigh and think about the dam

About speaking and writing and following my plan

 

I am the beaver.

It is as simple as that

Thank God for Billy and our little chat

 

Leave a Reply

