All Leaders are Readers

Leadership Strikes

readers

Despite being the last President not to have a college degree, Harry Truman was an extremely educated person, much the result of being a lifelong, avid reader.

For many years, I chose not to read.  However, I encountered caring leaders along my career path who challenged me to keep growing and learning, often through books they would suggest.

After learning that lesson, I’ve frequently “paid that strategy forward” with several of my peers and friends, and have seen many transformations from non-reader to learning addict!

As in my case, if you find that you are too lazy or too easily distracted to read, you can always listen to audio books in your car and painlessly attend, what the late Zig Ziglar called, “automobile university” while driving.

Ironically, my own personal development in the early 1990’s started with listening to Tony Robbins’ Personal Power tapes.  It’s ironic that Mr. Robbins credited much of his early success to becoming a voracious…

View original post 106 more words

One thought on “All Leaders are Readers

  1. As someone who didn’t learn to read well until the sixth grade (thank you Mrs. Hill), I can attest to the power of reading to change someone’s life. And how it can continue to change someone. Of course, writing has profound affects too.

Leave a Reply

