Signs of Finally Growing Up

I’m not happy to admit this, but I was in my mid-40’s before I realized that my story was…

  1. Not unlike so very many others’ stories
  2. Something to be honored but not wallowed in
  3. A springboard for action, not self-pity
  4. Written by me and not my circumstances
  5. Not over yet – the best was yet to come

Why hadn’t I learned these important things sooner?

I spent way too much time…

  1. Complaining
  2. Despairing
  3. Comparing myself to, and resenting others that seemed to have easier lives

Instead of…

  1. Aggressively listening and learning
  2. Refusing to give up
  3. Changing by modeling those who had taken risks, taken charge of their happiness, and overcome

pain of living

 

Leave a Reply

