Thinking about Sighing

I sighed about my day

While another lay dying

I sighed about my mediocrity

While another prayed for just one opportunity

I sighed about my children or my friends or my job

While another had none

I sighed about my appearance

While another had debilitating deformities

I sighed about the weather

While another was imprisoned

I sighed high and I sighed low

I sighed in the morning and I sighed in the evening

When I was young and when I was old

I sighed and sighed and kept on sighing

Until my life was done

There was only one way I could have stopped the sighs:

The University of Open-Your-Eyes

mary Oliver

oliver

 

 

Leave a Reply

