When I Get Arrogant

How is it that I think I know anything

When I am so much younger than a rock

And will vanish as quickly as the grass?

How is it that I ever consider myself an expert

When I am not even as old as a sea turtle

Or some humble, unnoticed tree?

Who do I think I am

Besides one who happened upon an ancient world

Only recently?

Maybe I should be sitting in awe

Or begging for knowledge

Or listening to truth in the wind

Or asking for wisdom from strangers

Rather than dishing unsolicited opinions

At every opportunity

Who do I think I am anyway?

 

“In reality, humility means nothing other than complete honesty about yourself.”

William Countryman

humility2

humble

3 thoughts on “When I Get Arrogant

  1. Very beautiful and thoughtful poem. Love this.

Leave a Reply

