Letting Go of Illusions

(Disclaimer: I do not want to minimize the most horrible pain of finding that your child is responsible for the death of someone else. These are only ancillary thoughts about my own disconnect that were triggered by their reactions.)

I heard the parents of two accused murderers say in television interviews, “My son is not capable of that type of behavior.” My first thought was they were in serious denial until I remembered telling a fourth-grade teacher, “My son wouldn’t do that” when she told me he was lying and misbehaving.

How easy it is to be clueless about the people we love when…

  • We are invested in our own agendas for them
  • They are afraid to let us know who they really are

Much of the pain, surprise, and disappointment I have experienced with people would have been prevented by loving more and playing God less.

unrealistic

 

 

Leave a Reply

