I Was a Lying Fool

lying

Or, as in my case, if someone fears rejection, is naturally insecure, and/or has a mother, father (or authority figure) with mood swings, there is a pretty good chance the art of lying is being honed and perfected.

Two marvels:

  • Even though I had become a liar in this fashion, I accidentally created the same fear-based culture in my own home and then marveled when my children lied to me. Go figure.
  • How easy it is for humans to condemn others for lying when we have all done it and we frickin’ know why it is so very difficult to be truthful.

Two lessons:

  • Quit trying to make myself feel better by denouncing other liars
  • Ask myself how I can help people feel honored and accepted enough to be real

 

Leave a Reply

