Four Tips for Finding Relief when Feeling Like a Failure

Some of us (including me) wrestle with this feeling regularly.

Others (those born with high self-esteem) may only feel the blow when taken off guard by sudden or unexpected losses.

Regardless of which group you are in, it helps to have a plan for crawling out.

These are my strategies:

  1. Remember I am in good company. (Lincoln once jumped out of a window to avoid jeering about his political mistakes.)
  2. Remember my historical context. (My lifespan is a mere speck on the timeline. So what?)
  3. Remember if I am kind I AM successful. (“People will forget what you said or did but they won’t forget how you made them feel.”)
  4. Remember that I never really know the full significance of events. (Time reveals stunning mysteries. Nothing is wasted.)

failure

 

4 thoughts on “Four Tips for Finding Relief when Feeling Like a Failure

  1. Reblogged this on Big Red Carpet Nursing and commented:
    Sound advice.

  2. I wish that I had read this a few days ago =(

Leave a Reply

