What Is All This Suffering about Anyway?

images (6)

Not long ago, I found myself wishing an unpleasant experience would just hurry up and be over.

Then I caught myself.

I was trading that moment, as if it didn’t count, for the future.

No wonder I was so miserable! I had told myself that there was no value in the current moment, that it just had to be endured.

I corrected my thoughts to ask, instead, “How can I use this moment to learn something, give something, or make a difference?” Then, things changed. They still weren’t easy, but they were much more bearable, and, just like that, I had found a way to make an investment in myself and others.

Hope and glory weren’t somewhere in the future. They had been with me all along.

imagesDZCQAUCG

2 thoughts on “What Is All This Suffering about Anyway?

  1. Inspiring post. We must learn to make the most for good, of ourchallenges.

Leave a Reply

