If Someone Implies That You Are a Poor Communicator

Believe them.

Even if you think they are the one who is not a good communicator.

I was always so quick to justify myself (and condemn others) that I missed my chances to adjust and grow. That translated into lost opportunities, broken relationships, hurt feelings, and unnecessary confusion.

Examples:

  • My friend told me I often hurt people’s feelings with my sarcasm. I said I was just being funny and quit hanging out with that friend.
  • My boss asked me to quit talking so much and be more sensitive to people. I rolled my eyes. She fired me a few months later.
  • My children said I didn’t listen well. I argued with them.

untitled (36)

images (32)

 

 

3 thoughts on “If Someone Implies That You Are a Poor Communicator

  1. I totally agree. I think we should take ALL criticism, whether it is hurtful or not, as positive criticism. Maybe the other person is right!

Leave a Reply

