I’m Keeping Happiness Simple

“I don’t need a “reason” to be happy.

I don’t have to consult the future to know how happy I feel now.”

Hugh Prather (Notes to Myself)

I was pretty depressed when I was fifteen. My caring teacher, Ron Springfield, told me to find something to look forward to when I woke up and to ride that hope throughout the day. It really did help me…until adulthood, when I decided that there was nothing to look forward to.

Now, when I wake up, I take Hugh Prather’s approach. I adore the moment and purposefully admire all of the miracles in it (in spite of challenges): my existence, the air, the light, the phenomena all around me, etc.

Then, I control my happiness.

It’s a function of what I think about.

untitled (56)

happy-quotes2

 

4 thoughts on “I’m Keeping Happiness Simple

  1. Love the happy fingers group shot!

    Hugs,

    Sean

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. We put so many things on our agenda…our task list. But never do we add the simple task of controlling our happiness. We neglect ourselves so much!

  3. Good point! It’s more important than bathing.

Leave a Reply

