The Times We Cause the Pain

Often we spend so much time thinking and complaining about those who hurt us that we forget we are sometimes doing the hurting.

If I am brave enough to listen to my critics (family, friends, coworkers, neighbors, exes, or whomever) I may find that I…

  1. Talk too much about myself
  2. Think it has to be my way
  3. Argue and judge before I listen
  4. Am inflexible and sometimes self-righteous
  5. Am insensitive
  6. Have forgotten to be grateful
  7. etc.

DVgWLrw

One of the best deterrents to gossip, whining, and complaining is cultivating the courage to confront ourselves first.

9 thoughts on “The Times We Cause the Pain

  1. Love this. My avatar on the Living Sober website is the quote by Roosevelt. 👍🏻

  2. So good of you! Thanks for sharing…and for making a difference!

  3. This comes at an awesome time! I just wrote a post about changing your “flaws” or choosing to accept who you are/have become. I think your post highlights a good way to identify when its time to change some things – when its negatively hurting those around you.

  4. Need to hear this… often… unfortunately. But important to be reminded!

  5. This was SO good!

  6. Thanks for encouraging me e!

Leave a Reply

