For Those Who Are Tired of Hearing about Gratitude

When life is difficult, it is hard to feel grateful. Grateful for what?

We feel like we have been ripped off.

We feel disappointed, while others are sailing right on by. Easy for them to say we should feel grateful, right?

Today, I read something in Dan Millman’s book, Everyday Enlightenment, that creatively addressed this roadblock:

The Three-Question Reality Check

  • What have I received from ________________?
  • What have I given to _________________?
  • What troubles or difficulties have I caused _______________________?

It works best when we answer the following questions about someone we may not feel gratitude toward. Start with a parent, boss, sibling, or spouse, for instance. Be very specific with your answers.

I found my attitude shifting from getting what I felt was owed me to a heartfelt desire to repay debts of which I was previously unaware.” – Dan Millman

01f23a861b90fac864bdddf14be02818

4 thoughts on “For Those Who Are Tired of Hearing about Gratitude

  1. Wow, those are 3 very powerful questions!

Leave a Reply

