When Disappointment Is Too Common

Becoming jaded about life is easy. All we have to do is focus on what disappoints us about people. When I am in that rut, everything I think about is tarnished, similar to how Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina was thinking shortly before she threw herself under the train!

A simple remedy for disappointment with others, dashed expectations, and cynicism toward life in general:

  1. Plan and prepare to love (there’s always a shortage of this simple gift)
  2. Just be present, no strings attached
  3. Don’t posture, compare, or judge

“When I focus on getting my share, I’ll always be disappointed, but by noticing what I am already receiving and then working to repay those around me, I find a genuine opportunity for fulfillment.” -David K. Reynolds, Ph.D.

97e1423f83abfa776767bf005c863abe

Quote by Leo Tolstoy

Leave a Reply

