Feeling Helpless to Make You Understand

I never bought the line that kids who got in trouble where just trying to get attention, because when I did “mental” things as a kid or as an adult, it felt more like pure pain and frustration. Even when a little manipulation was involved, I just wanted to be understood.

It wasn’t to get attention.

I didn’t want that kind of attention.

Maybe I just wanted you to know

That it was worse than you thought.

Maybe I wanted to change your mind

About the way you had decided to treat me.

I wanted to make you see

Really see…me

And it seemed impossible to do.

What I had done before hadn’t worked.

I was still alone.

2412c5be237f38ac1f4a71aaa621cc0b

It seems we all want to be understood before seeking to understand.

Leave a Reply

