Self-Sufficiency and Prayer Balance

images (57)

I use these words of Walt Whitman as a mantra on the days I feel overwhelmed or small, to transition from victim to warrior, from striving to contentment. This mantra nudges me toward courage and power and away from resignation and despair. I use it to announce my presence and determination and to claim my place in the world.

Formerly, I thought this “self-sufficiency gospel” was a contradiction to humility and “God-sufficiency.” I now believe they go hand-in-hand.

The attitude of power reflected in this quote doesn’t discourage me from prayer, but turns my prayers from a pathetic indulgence of self-pity to an activity of gratitude and partnership with the Universe.

6 thoughts on “Self-Sufficiency and Prayer Balance

  1. “An activity of gratitude”. To participate, yes indeed. Enjoy the rest of your week. 🙂

  2. Intelligent post that sheds more light on the topic.As

Leave a Reply

