It’s Just Reality

images (15)

At least we noticed, right?

So I quit calling myself stupid a few years ago and that was progress. I am not advocating a negative opinion of ourselves: just a realistic one. Even the smartest among us has heaps to learn, right? Real trouble frequently begins for me when I think I’ve got it all figured out, that I have arrived, or that I am smarter than someone else.

My nephew who struggles with an intellectual disability told me yesterday that he gets so tired of feeling stupid. It made me sad, yet, I also appreciate how his (painful) awareness vs. his former denial has improved his responses to things he can control.

Noticing is always the first step to improvement.

4 thoughts on “It’s Just Reality

  1. There is nothing we are “bad” at. There are things that come easily to us and there are things that we can master with extra effort.

  2. Very well said, nice post.

Leave a Reply

