Anger Detour

Had a dream last night that I lost my temper, threw a major fit, got my way, but wasn’t satisfied…because the person with whom I was angry was only yielding to coercion and not responding from their heart.

Duh. Good reminder that there is a better way to get lasting results.

When I feel slighted, why don’t I just ask confidently for what I need and set boundaries instead of flaring up? Instead of roaring or whining, it might sound like this:

When ____________________, I felt undervalued. Can we talk about what we can do to prevent this in the future?”

Detachment.

Facts.

Learning.

Negotiation.

Decisions.

Power.

It takes practice to hold the temper back, but worth every second of it.

Controlling you is a good start in any circumstance.

bruce-lee-actor-quote-a-quick-temper-will-make-a-fool-of-you-soon

 

Leave a Reply

