Surrendered

Sweet sleep into new day

Out of the fullness of yesterday

Soft slumber in cool sheets

Sinking, sinking into peace

Peace that found me in chaos

Living as I could in you

With your breath

With your wealth

With your love for created things

Without hate

Without regret

Without the need of anything

Sounds heavenly, right?

But without surrender, it is impossible.

When I can’t sleep or wake up in the middle of the night with a furrowed brow or a clenched jaw, only by remembering that I did not bring myself into the world nor can I keep myself here, will I experience this peaceful depth of surrender.

ee212bc1a16711c5470f08db8332ea1d

ep513-own-sss-russell-simmons-quotes-2-949x949

Leave a Reply

