Gotta Hurry. I’ll Miss My Escalator.

This absurd sentence was actually in my mind as I was rushing a goodbye at the airport. Although it was funny, I regretted my hurry later when I realized I hadn’t even turned around to acknowledge the person who was kindly seeing me off at the bottom of the two-story escalator.

imagesHRA3E3F6

As a parent, as a lover, as a friend, as a worker, I have rushed past delight to catch details, dinner, and ultimately, delusion too many times. The escalator would always be there, other things wouldn’t be.

Nostalgia should be enough to convince us that nothing is ever better than right here, right now.

 

2 thoughts on “Gotta Hurry. I’ll Miss My Escalator.

  1. powerful closing sentence

  2. Thanks Josie. We can be so slow to get it, can’t we?

Leave a Reply

