Chopping Off Misery at the Knees

Okay, I just read Stephen King’s book Misery, but the title of this blog is more than a distasteful homage. I woke this morning thinking about how easy it is to abruptly stop my own misery by changing my thoughts. For example, during childbirth, when I changed my thought from “I’m dying,” to “This is normal and good,” my pain decreased.

In relationships, when I think someone is causing me pain, I become miserable, sad, or angry. By changing my thought to, “someone is helping me learn,” I let myself out of prison and back into happiness.

images6NV6K87N

Stephen King had learned about the misery of mangled legs, drug addiction, and how to redirect his mental energy before he was able to write a powerful allegory about freedom from victimization.

Leave a Reply

