St. Patrick’s Day Challenge from My Fave Irish Writer

some-cause-happiness-wherever-they-go-others-whenever-they-go-5

“Some cause happiness wherever they go; others whenever they go.” -Oscar Wilde

We can all laugh at this quote and think of someone to whom it applies. The tricky thing is being honest enough to recognize when we are the one bringing more happiness to others by leaving. My good friend Jan once told me she had been avoiding me because I was so needy; that being with me felt like being with a vacuum cleaner. Ouch.

I had no idea. I wish she had told me sooner…even though it hurt to find out.

Habits like complaining, whining, criticizing, nagging, bragging, preaching, coercing, hogging the conversation are happy-thieves.

The challenge is to catch ourselves in the act.

2 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day Challenge from My Fave Irish Writer

  1. Ouch, that would have hurt. Better late than never though, at least you could change your behavior.

  2. I was surprised but glad for the explanation. I just thought she was unreliable and irresponsible because she would stand me up frequently. In actuality, she didn’t want to hurt my feelings by telling me why she didn’t want to see me. That made so much sense and gave me a window to see into my own behaviors enough to change them! Thanks for your comments and encouragement!

Leave a Reply

