Crazy People Chatter

I’ve noticed when playing any type of game or sport that I only chatter to myself when I’ve screwed up. Because of this observation, today I made a point to compliment myself. Felt weird. However, I’m going to keep practicing. We all talk to ourselves so we might as well take advantage of the encouragement, right?

In all seriousness, crazy people…

  • repeat the same things over and over to themselves (or to others)
  • carry on disparaging conversations with themselves (or others)
  • chatter about things that don’t matter (to themselves and others)

Mentally healthy people…

  • catch unproductive thoughts before they become words
  • focus on productive conversations with others (and with themselves)
  • listen to others more than they talk (to or about others)

 

Leave a Reply

