Blown Out of Mediocrity

Feeling mediocre used to be the plague of my existence. My friend Jan and I spoke often about feeling as if our lives were inconsequential. We even discussed starting a Mediocre Club.

Driving home from work, shortly after one of these discussions, I noticed the wind blowing over the grass beside the highway. For miles I noticed how every single blade was bathed in sun and, every single blade, in response to the wind that passed over it, bent and swayed in rhythm.

It was an epiphany about my own equality. The wind, the sun, and the world were mine too.

(modified repost from 2012)

2 thoughts on “Blown Out of Mediocrity

Leave a Reply

