If You Want to Look Younger

anne-lamotts-quotes-4

“Joy is the best makeup.” Anne Lamott

Most of us don’t realize how witchy or decrepit our faces look when we are unhappy, mean, worried, fearful, jealous, or bitter. Sometimes I scare myself when I accidentally see my reflection in the computer screen while I am working. EEK!

When I don’t actively concentrate on joy and contentment, my mouth turns down into a nasty, wrinkle-inducing, upside down U, my brow furrows, and my lips tighten up like a constipated old lady who is angry about things not being the way they used to be.

Awareness of this “beauty thief” also keeps me from acting like a creep sometimes…which is good for others too, even if part of my motivation is just a tiny bit narcissistic. haha

3 thoughts on “If You Want to Look Younger

  1. This is so true. I think a smile instantly makes everyone look younger and more beautiful.

Leave a Reply

