That’s What I’m Talkin’ About

“Humans, it seems, have anywhere from 12,000 to 60,000 thoughts per day. According to some research, as many as 98 percent of those thoughts are exactly the same thoughts as the day before. Even more significant, 80 percent of those thoughts are negative.”

– Jennifer Read Hawthorne

If you doubt this quote, I’d encourage you to listen to what you are saying to yourself when…

  • you are alone
  • you make mistakes
  • you are worried
  • you are frustrated
  • you are bored

What we are talking about is what we are thinking about.

While playing tennis the other day, I noticed that I only talked to myself when I missed a shot. I went completely silent when I was doing well. So, I decided to switch it around, thinking and saying good things to myself about my good shots, while thinking and saying nothing about the bad. Immediately, my play improved and so did my attitude! My opponent, enjoying the fun I was having, commented that she couldn’t do that because she was more of a realist than an optimist.

I responded, “Optimism is not the issue. Productivity is.  I’m not deceiving myself. I’m only thinking and speaking in a manner that gets better results.”

Even if it was about myself, spewing negativity got me nothing and nowhere fast.

negativity

5 thoughts on “That’s What I’m Talkin’ About

  1. A principle in biology is that bad is stronger than good, which scientists call The Negativity Bias. The Negativity Bias refers to the idea that even when of equal intensity, things of a more negative nature have a greater effect on one’s psychological state than things of a equivalent positive nature. This bias is very hard to overcome for many people, but if you can, it’s worth it:) It seems like you were able to overcome it:) great post!

  2. Great message…I’m going to give this a go!

  3. Wow. This was interesting. I can’t believe those numbers but I’m happy to know I’m not the only one

Leave a Reply

