Swinging with Mood Swings

Often, the plague of passionate people is the mood-swing plight.

Louisa May Alcott’s writing career was a roller-coaster of emotions while she went from the drought of no success to micro success, back to drought, to another round of small successes, then back to drought, over and over again. Her journal, recounting oceans of disappointment and despair surrounding islands of hope often mirrored my own up-and-down career experience.

I like this tongue-in-cheek quote by Ellen; “I’m on the patch right now. Where it releases small dosages of approval until I no longer crave it. And then I’m gonna rip it off.” 

Approval, results, success: most of us fear the absence of them. Financial pressures, social pressures, ego issues, and self-doubt all take their turns driving the emotional roller coaster faster and faster.

mood swing

The only reprieve I have found from hurting other people and from my own nausea-inducing ride has been in grounding myself with a daily reminder that my worth is independent of other metrics.

What other people do, say, or think was never part of my self-worth equation.

There is nothing to prove.

I am successful already if I have lightened the load of any other creature.

I was born for a reason and wouldn’t be here otherwise.

I have made a difference.

ellen serial killer

6 thoughts on “Swinging with Mood Swings

  1. Thank you, Pam. Your words really are very helpful.

  2. “my worth is independent of other metrics” – yes!!! I could read these words over and over again

  3. Hi! I’m a mutual admirer of Louisa May Alcott. Great post!

    I’m reading one of her books this month that I haven’t read before, called An Old-Fashioned Girl. If you’re interested, I’m hosting a Louisa May Alcott reading challenge that might whet your appetite. 🙂

Leave a Reply

