Okay, I Confess

While reading Tony Blair’s biography, A Journey, I realized I had most likely misjudged several politicians and formed unfavorable opinions about them by…

  • Relying too heavily on spotty media reports and the opinions of others
  • Not giving the benefit of the doubt (as I would have desired if I were in their position)
  • Believing the worst without adequate validation
  • Always labeling mistakes as moral violations
  • Failing to do my own research before spouting off

The least I can do to show respect for people is to read other points of view thoroughly before I form my own opinion. I am ashamed that I have not done enough of that in the past. I owe apologies to people I’ll never get the chance to meet, but am making a new commitment to quit being a jerk.

Leave a Reply

