Have You Said Something You Shouldn’t Have?

Said something that prompted 1) cringing, 2) lies and arguments, 3) someone else’s pain, or 4)”What were you thinking?”

If so, there’s only one way out:  a big bite of humble pie topped with full responsibility.

Easier said than done, right?

I have way too much practice with these unfortunate scenarios, so can offer tips that help me recover productivity and sanity more quickly:

  • remember how much I value apologies and respect those who give them
  • realize that the offended party is ALREADY thinking about the offense, so “leaving well-enough alone” is self-deception
  • admit that no one ever thought I was perfect to begin with, so, my reputation is not at stake

Notice that “Part 4” about how we justify ourselves is not on this list.

3 thoughts on “Have You Said Something You Shouldn’t Have?

  1. Ah…number 4. You’re absolutely right. Great post! I’ll be using this meme on my instagram 😉

Leave a Reply

