Prison of Self

In Father Joe: The Man Who Saved My Soul, a Benedictine monk expounded on the ancient concept of the “prison of self” to help Tony Hendra escape from his mental anguish. It was a timely reminder for me. When I am stuck in the prison of my…

  • self pity
  • self criticism
  • self flagellations
  • self centeredness
  • self aggrandizements
  • self absorption
  • self despair and/or confusion

I can remind myself to take the key out of my pocket, let myself out, then pick up the remote and change the channel.

Free at last!

By the way, humor is a good place to start. Check out the scientific research on Barking Up the Wrong Tree Blog…

http://www.bakadesuyo.com/2016/07/improve-your-life/

Leave a Reply

