Things We Don’t Notice

I just noticed last week that I love the color of green traffic lights. I have looked at them over a million times and never seen them. This sudden awareness made me think about how unaware I can be of my own blindness.

Concerning our lack of awareness, Seneca the Younger said, “The worse a person is, the less he feels it,” implying the critical role thoughtful examination plays in the development of noble character.

When I have been the most brutal with others and done things I regret, it has always been in conjunction with my lack of disciplined reflection.

Much more than color-blindness is at stake.

the-worse-a-person-is-the-less-he-feels-it-quote-1

2 thoughts on “Things We Don’t Notice

  1. I’d never heard that quote, “Eyes are useless when the mind is blind,” but it’s so true. Thanks for this thought for the day.

Leave a Reply

