Looking for Hope

I awake and scan the horizon for hope

It is too far away or not at all

My legs become as leaden as my head

I whimper or growl about the inevitable

Questioning the fight

Fearing the beast and the effort it will take

To slay it

 

Until I turn my eyes away from the horizon

Down into the deep

To mine for it beneath this parched surface 

Finding it, I will look again to the hopeful horizon

And give it away as fast as I can

For those dying for lack of it

All around me

dig-deep-find-your-way-to-your-soul-quote-1

 

4 thoughts on “Looking for Hope

  1. Very well written. Hope is elusive but we can’t let it go it sustains us. Agreed we have to dig deep in its search.

  2. So beautiful and full of hope

Leave a Reply

