It is NOT Intuitive

When I am angry or irritated with someone, the last thing I am thinking about is partnering. Rather, I am thinking about unleashing my dissatisfaction (either aggressively or passive-aggressively) upon whoever is causing me pain.

Yet, as soon as I employ any adversarial approach, the distance to my goal lengthens, walls go up, things get complicated, and the other party’s retaliation seems justifiable to them.

When I have successfully exited this brand of chaos, it has been by using a non-intuitive approach:

  1. Stepping away from the pain long enough to have healthy, emotional detachment
  2. Surrendering my own agenda long enough to understand the other party’s concerns
  3. Only moving ahead when I clearly see a way to partner; where everyone feels like a winner

(As Maya Angelou reminded us, “People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but they will never forget how you made them feel.”)

Image result for win win situation quotes

Leave a Reply

