Not on Any Map

Image result for herman melville quotes

This quote from Moby Dick came to mind when I took out a map of the world with the intention of marking all the places I have worked and traveled. Truly grateful for having gone places I never thought I would, I am also keenly aware that the most transformative places I have been are not on any map.

This awareness, more than any other, helps me to look at other people with reverence and gentleness, even those people I don’t understand, agree with, or particularly like. Who could chart their journey through sadness, loss, love, discovery, disappointment, and change?

“Tread softly

For this is holy ground

Could we see with seeing eyes

The place we stand on is paradise”

– Christina Rossetti

2 thoughts on “Not on Any Map

Leave a Reply

