Edgar Allen Poe’s Reality

Image result for edgar allan poe quotes,

The longer I live, the more I agree with Poe, and believe we are all in various stages of insanity. The willingness to admit this about myself makes me seriously happier. Poe lived with great personal tragedy; he was an orphan, his wife died very young, he never made enough money to live on, etc., yet he kept working.

Whatever we believe about Poe’s unorthodox life, we are forced to respect the fact that his is a recognizable name one-hundred-sixty-seven years after his death. Most of us have been frightened by “The Pit and the Pendulum,” “The Tell-Tale Heart,” or “The Raven,” and have felt his influence in many branches of literature and film.

If life drives me crazy today, I’ll be Poe-like and enjoy it.

2 thoughts on “Edgar Allen Poe’s Reality

  1. I think he was thinking of me!

Leave a Reply

