Kingdom of Speech

Tom Wolfe’s new book, The Kingdom of Speech, is so intriguing and entertaining that I missed a dozen turns while listening to the audio in my car. Never would I have imagined being so captivated by the history of scientific research on the subject of speech acquisition! Yet, wow, what a journey Wolfe took me on, dicing up historical legends and institutions, serving them up with scathing humor, and alerting me to the marvel of speech and mankind’s embarrassing inability to define it.

Again, I am moved by what I don’t know…and haven’t even thought about knowing. I hope it will remind me today to be more…

  • humble when I am tempted to think I am hot stuff
  • aggressive in using my free time to learn (instead of veg)
  • respectful of all fields of knowledge and their impact upon us all

kingdom-of-speech

Leave a Reply

