Sing It Like You Mean It

Sometimes when I hear a singer belt out a song with jarring clarity and passion or read an impressively-crafted paragraph, I am moved to tears. This morning, while reading Shantaram, I realized that some of those tears were prayers: prayers of gratitude for the perseverance it took for author David Gregory Roberts to find his “voice,” but also, prayers for using my own “voice” with such power and precision.

I cannot sing at all, but, there have been a few times in my life when I have felt the electricity moving from me to my audience and knew I was singing, standing in the live current of eternal power: giving the gift I was born to give.

And, I knew that those who sing out loud with their gift become the gift.

It might take a lifetime, and it might not be easy, but there are people waiting for the song only we can sing.

However difficult, we must sing it like we mean it.

Image result for sing your song dance your dance

Leave a Reply

