Furnishing My Inner Life

“Suffering always brings new furniture with it.”

I woke up from a dream where this phrase was being spoken to me by some sort of sage. What the heck?

As I thought about it throughout the day, this was how it decoded:

When suffering comes into my life it always brings new “furniture” for the remodel of my inner life, and (after the pain subsides) my “accommodations” are improved. Afterwards, I will reside more comfortably with myself or be able to provide hospitality to someone else coming into my life later.

In the middle of suffering, I cannot see the new furniture while attempting to light my way with the “matches” of my own wit. But, when I give up trying to fathom the unfathomable, there they are: ghostly, shrouded, half-faded, and half-formed shapes of new wisdom, awareness, and sensitivity.

Tread softly

For this is holy ground

Could we see with seeing eyes

The place we stand upon

Is Paradise

-Christina Rossetti

Image result for christina rossetti quotes 

3 thoughts on “Furnishing My Inner Life

  1. Lovely! I love the title also, perfectly sums it up!

Leave a Reply

