Pardon Me, Have You Seen My Sense of Destiny?

Pardon me, have you seen my sense of destiny?

I seemed to have lost it along the way somewhere

Yet, I’ve looked up and down and it isn’t here anywhere

I can’t even remember when or where I had it last

Or any other clue that links the future to my past

I must have lived so long without it that, I’m ashamed to say,

I hardly even noticed it was gone today

Until I read that book.

The book that meddled, unauthorized, with my head

Forcing me, irreverently, to unearth the sacred dead

And bow humbly to destiny’s gravitational force 

At the unyielding wall of its Holy Source

I wrote this after being struck dumb with Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane; a delightful read that surprised me with the holiness of everyday life and everyday people.

Related image

3 thoughts on “Pardon Me, Have You Seen My Sense of Destiny?

  1. Amazing!
    Acid Attacks are the horrors of the society. Read my narrative poem “Survivor” at
    https://akashsingh2017.wordpress.com/2017/06/25/survivor/
    Hope you will like it and get inspired 🙂 Do leave your precious comment behind.

Leave a Reply

