Overreacting to Criticism?

I had a dream that I totally went ballistic on a family member who suggested I needed to lose weight. So glad it was a dream.

Yet, my relief dissipated when I imagined what I would have done if that person, accidentally, said something so cruel. My reaction wasn’t that far from reality.

I tend to react defensively when I feel…

  • Guilty
  • Worthless
  • Helpless
  • Conflicted
  • Inferior
  • Afraid

When I am brave enough to face the truth about myself, I can detach my emotions enough to learn from criticism instead of…

  • Biting someone’s head off
  • Criticizing back
  • Getting depressed
  • Expunging the challenger from my life

Image result for hiding behind overreaction

A back-peddle

For reflection 

Prevents wasted rides

With rejection

Leave a Reply

