Graveyard of the Clueless

I swatted unsuccessfully at a fly in my house. Two days later, the fly was still following me around like a pet. In a few more days he would be dead on the windowsill, so I tried to lead him to the door, which, of course, did not work.

The fly reminded me of me as a corporate employee:

  • I got swatted a couple of times for stupid stuff.
  • Afterwards, I pretended to be a friend of management (while bad-mouthing them behind their backs).
  • Unable to forget the swats, I resisted their efforts to help me (which were legitimate).
  • Eventually, I would end up in the “corporate graveyard.”

We so often resist those who offer us insight: bosses, exes, family, friends, authority figures, teachers, co-workers, etc., while flitting around with frantic, clueless self-preservation efforts.

Leave a Reply

