To Soften My Cynical Soul

I wake up many days a non-believer, usually because life has disappointed me, people have disappointed me, or I have disappointed me.

If I don’t get to work on changing this non-believer state, I inevitably make life more difficult for myself and for those who are unlucky enough to exist along side of me. The remedy is always what I choose to focus upon.

Yesterday, I read the court testimony of my friend who was a victim of the Oklahoma City bombing twenty-nine years ago. His tenacity and determination to love God through it all gave me hope.

The day before that I read and reread the historical words of Jesus.

The day before that I watched and listened to comedy until my heart was light enough to be grateful.

Today I sang songs.

Whatever it takes.

Now, to work.

Leave a Reply